The CalWomenTech Project is grateful to the experienced members of its two national advisory committees, who have provided expert guidance and support throughout the Project. Their advice has been invaluable in shaping Project strategies, problem-solving implementation issues, research, resources and advice on further funding.





Original CalWomenTech National Advisory Committee

  • Dr. Ken Berry, Associate Professor, Educational Technology, California State University, and Founder RoboEducators, Northridge, CA
  • Dr. Cecilia Cervantes, President, College of Alameda, Alameda, CA
  • Louise Chiatovich, Educational Consultant, California Department of Education, Sacramento, CA
  • Connie Elder, Coordinator, Computer and Information Science Department, Cuyamaca College, El Cajon, CA
  • Dr. Marshall Gartenlaub, Statewide Director, Centers for Applied Competitive Technologies, (CACT), Economic & Workforce Development, Alta Loma, CA
  • Dr. Scott Griffith, Director, Engineering and Technology Center, American River College, Sacramento, CA
  • Carmen Lamha, Chair, Co-PI for CalWomenTech and ICONS ATE Project, City College of San Francisco, Computer Networking and Information Technology, San Francisco, CA
  • Dr. Edward Leach, Vice President - Services and Programs, League for Innovation in the Community College, Phoenix, AZ
  • Dr. Ralph Mills, Vice President, Small Manufacturers' Institute, 28067 Braidwood Drive, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
  • Dr. Sarah A. Rajala, James Worth Bagley Chair and Department Head, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Mississippi State University, Mississippi State, MS
  • Pierre S.Thiry, Ph.D., PE, CCAI, Instructor & PI, Institute for Convergence of Optical and Network Systems (ICONS), City College of San Francisco, Computer Networking and Information Technology, San Francisco, CA
  • Dr. Mara Wasburn, Associate Professor, Organizational Leadership, College of Technology, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN
  • Sharon Wong Specialist, Career Technical Education Unit, California Community Colleges Chancellor's Office, Sacramento, CA

Second Generation CalWomenTech Advisory Committee -- Formed Year Four

  • Dr. Kathleen Alfano, Director, PI, CREATE Regional Center, College of the Canyons, CA
  • Marilyn Barger, Director, PI, Florida Advanced Technological Education Center (FLATE), FL
  • Dr. Ann Beheler, Director, PI, Convergence Technology Center (CTC), TX
  • Deborah Boisvert, Director, BATEC Center for IT, University of Massachusetts, MA
  • Robert Cormia, PI, Nanotechnology Program Curriculum Articulation, Foothill-De Anza Community College, CA
  • Peter Crabtree, PI, Educating Technicians for Building Automation and Sustainability, Dean, Instruction for Vocational Technology, Laney College, CA
  • Dr. Arlen Gullickson, Director of The Evaluation Center of Western Michigan University
  • Dr. Elaine Johnson, Director, Bio-Link National ATE Center, Instructor, City College of San Francisco, CA
  • Carmen Lamha, Co-PI, CalWomenTech Project, Chair, Computer Networking and Information Technology, City College of San Francisco, CA
  • Gordon Snyder, PI, Director, Information and Communications Technologies (ICT) Center, Springfield Technical Community College, MA
  • Dr. Pierre Thiry, PI, Mid-Pacific ICT Regional Center, City College of San Francisco, CA
  • Steve Wendel, PI, Director, National Center for Manufacturing Education & Project Lead the Way—Ohio Affiliate, Sinclair Community College, OH
  • Dr. Karen Wosczyna-Birch, PI, Director, Regional Center for Next Generation Manufacturing, College of Technology (RCNGM), CT

nsf-logoThe CalWomenTech Project is funded by The Program for Research on Gender in Science and Engineering from The National Science Foundation - Grant no. 0533564